top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Cantwell

5 tips for a healthy quarantine

Updated: Apr 29, 2020


Hey guys and welcome back to my blog.

I hope everyone is doing ok during this uncertain time, I have been in lockdown for 7 weeks now and let me tell you it doesn’t get any easier! Since lockdown I have tried to stay motivated and I am trying different things to stay fit and healthy. It’s so important to take time for yourself and do exactly what your body needs whether it’s chilling on the couch, watching Netflix, taking a walk in the spring air (if you are lucky enough to have this possibility) or doing a morning workout to start your day off on a positive note. I’m going to discuss 5 different fitness and health tips that I have been living off the past few weeks and hopefully it will help some of you guys out there.







1. It’s so important to incorporate some kind of physical exercise into your week whether it’s yoga, Zumba, walking, or a little home workout which are available to all of us online. Monday-Friday every morning or evening I do a little workout for myself, preferably in the morning because after a workout I feel so positive and I feel like it’s going to be a great day, however sometimes I prefer to do a workout and some yoga in the evening to help me sleep. It can be hard to sleep during the pandemic but I find stretching the muscles do help me to have a restful sleep. Physical exercise is great for your health mentally and physically and of course it provides the escape that we sometimes need. Put your headphones in and get the heart rate going! It has been my saviour and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough.




2. Try to incorporate fruit and vegetables into your diet daily. This has absolutely nothing to do with weight or body image but it helps with feeling good inside and out. Since the lockdown my intake of fruit and vegetables have increased and I have to say they really do help me feel better and they give me lots of energy. Don’t get me wrong I have cheat days 100%, you can’t go wrong with a giant pizza and a few beers too. It’s just so important to mind our bodies internally and it’s an opportunity to get creative in the kitchen.



3. PUT DOWN THE PHONE! There is nothing fresher than putting down the phone and avoiding all social media for a few hours during the day. Between fake news, upsetting stories and comparing your lifestyle to someone else’s during the quarantine let’s just say life is better without all of those things. Clear your mind and try not to pick up your phone every time you’re bored or have nothing to do. It works wonders for your anxiety and mental health. Try alternatives like reading, listening to music, baking or a jigsaw puzzle. My go to has been baking and reading, you can’t beat a good book and some chocolate brownies!




4. Our mental health is something we have to take care of. We only have one and we have to live with it, everyone has been struggling at some point and it’s so important to TALK, whether you live with someone or not we need to carry each other through these few weeks. Call a friend or family member or speak to whoever is living with you. A problem shared is a problem halved and I think everyone has felt low at least once or twice during this quarantine. It’s nothing to be embarrassed about or ashamed of because we’re literally all in the same boat. I have learnt that holding your feelings inside doesn’t get you anywhere as they build and build in our minds. When you share your problem, nine times out of ten the other person will know exactly how you’re feelings because they have gone through the same.


5. Last but not least, listen to your body. Our body’s are all experiencing different things at the moment, less waking, less moving around and less fresh air. Never feel under pressure to have a perfectly thought out, productive day. Some days we need to stay in our jammies all day or watch movies or eat popcorn and chill. Thats perfectly ok, some days we need that glass of wine on a Tuesday afternoon this period of time is no easier for anyone else. It’s important to listen to our bodies and not compare how we are handling the quarantine to how someone else is. Take social media with a pinch of salt. No one will ever post a picture of them in bed at 4pm eating chocolate but we’ve all been there believe me!!! Your own body is your only concern and if things on social media are making you feel like you’re not enough then unfollow these accounts and try to understand that you are enough!






Thanks to everyone who has been constantly supporting me and reading my blogs it’s truly appreciated. I hope this blog will help to lift some people or encourage you to try something new. Stay safe everyone and mind each other,


Peace and love,

Sincerely RachelEve💋.

231 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page